Change the world

Fashion Design


Head of Department
Mr Michael Swanepoel
Mr Mike Swanepoel
Position: Head of Department: Applied Design
Department: Applied Design
Room: K08
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 5043317
Fax: 27 41 5043529
Email: mike@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: B Tech Graphic Design, M Tech Entrepreneurship
Expertise: Graphic Design, Internet Design, Brand strategy

Academic Staff
Mr Bruce S Cadle
Mr Bruce Cadle
Position: Principal Lecturer & Programme Leader: B Tech and Postgraduate Studies
Department: Art & Design
Room: K09/BS_104
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: +27 41 504 3254
Email: bruce.cadle@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: M Tech Graphic Design
Expertise: Postgraduate Visual Arts lectures & supervision; Visual Studies, Communication Design

Ms Jean  Luyt
Ms Jean Luyt
Position: Lecturer: Applied Design (Textiles)
Department: Textile Design
Room: F002
Location: Second Avenue Campus
Phone: 27 41 5043719
Fax: 27 41 5049719
Email: jean.luyt@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NHDip. Textile Design
Expertise: Textile design, Textile printing, CAD

Mr Tyrone  James
Mr Tyrone James
Position: Lecturer: Applied Design (Fashion Design)
Department: Fashion Design
Room: F 010
Location: Second Avenue Campus
Phone: 27 41 5043717
Fax: 27 41 5049717
Email: tyrone.james@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NHDip. Clothing
Expertise: Creative Design, Fashion Illustration, Pattern Construction, Garment Construction - Formal & Eveningwear

Mr Harm Grobbelaar
Mr Harm Grobbelaar
Position: Lecturer & Programme Leader Fashion & Textiles
Department: Fashion Design
Room: Fashion 017
Location: Second Avenue Campus
Phone: 27 41 5043718
Fax: 27 41 5049718
Email: Harm.Grobbelaar@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: NHDip. Clothing
Expertise: Garment & Pattern Construction; Tailoring

Ms Margot Muir
Ms Margot Muir
Position: Lecturer: Applied Design (Graphic Design & Fashion)
Department: Graphic Design
Room: 112
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 9931
Email: margot.muir@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Mtech (Graphic design)
Expertise: Publications, Social design, Slow design
Responsibilities: Lecturer in Graphic Design, Visual Studies
My site: https://www.academia.edu/

Raquel Adriaan
Miss Raquel Adriaan
Position: Lecturer
Department: Applied Design
Room: 003
Location: Second Avenue Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 3716
Fax: 27 41 504 3916
Email: raquel.adriaan@mandela.ac.za
Expertise: Fashion Design